Planning Office

The Fergus County Planning Office is responsible for land use planning in Fergus County with the exception of the incorporated cities and towns. The Town of Moore and the Town of Denton currently contract with Fergus County to provide planning & floodplain review services.  The Planning Office works cooperatively with the City of Lewistown Planning Office for planning issues in the non-incorporated 4.5 mile area beyond the Lewistown City Limits.

Fergus County currently has two planning boards. The first being the County Planning Board with five members that meets the second Thursday of each month if there is business to act on.  The second board is the City-County Planning board, consisting of nine members, who have jurisdiction for the 4.5 mile area of Fergus County and the City of Lewistown. This board meets the third Thursday of the month as necessary.

712 W. Main Street, Suite #101
Lewistown, MT  59457

Office Hours
8:30 AM – 4:30 PM
Monday – Thursday


Appointments are highly advised.

Contact Information:

Danette Thurman
Planning Clerk
Phone: (406) 535-9046­
Email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.